Tuesdays with Dorie: French Chocolate Brownies

To my mind, chocolate, raisins, and rum are a great combination. I used a mix of golden and dark raisins and black strap rum, which has a lovely, dark, molasses-y flavor. I know this will make you raisin-haters out there shudder – but I would add more raisins if I made this again; they just weren’t enough of a presence. Neither was the rum, for that matter. I think next time I would skip boiling the raisins in water and just steep them in warmed rum for half an hour or so.

Making these brownies in a square pan seemed a bit plain to me, so I decided to play around with the shape. I wanted individual brownie “cakes” instead of cut brownies. I have a so-called “muffin top” pan, which I’ve never used for muffins. (I bought is because I liked the shallow shape, and I’ve made beautiful mincemeat tarts in it.) This pan has a non-stick surface, but I buttered it anyway. Good thing I did, as the first batch I made was difficult to remove after 15 minutes’ cooling time as you can see from one of the mangled brownies below.

I let the second batch cool in the pan for 25 minutes, and they came out easily.

The result is a classic shiny, crackly brownie top with a cakey interior, and quite fragile. I had this crazy idea that if I made individual brownies, Mark and I would each have one and I would freeze the rest for later – to be eaten in moderation over a period of time. Ha! As soon as I whipped some cream to have with the brownies for dessert that night, moderation went right out the window. These would be perfect to stack, with cream in between!

But I guess we did use moderation – we only stacked two, not three or four.

30 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

30 responses to “Tuesdays with Dorie: French Chocolate Brownies

  1. CB

    Oh yum! Brownie cookie sandwiches… genius!
    Clara @ I♥food4thought

  2. Ah, I’d always wondered what else could be done with those muffin top pans. Great idea!

  3. OMG, must do that now. Where did you get the adorable muffin top pan?

  4. brownie sandwich cookies. Ingenious!

  5. Great idea to bake them in a muffin top pan! I wouldn’t have thought of that. Now I have another excuse to buy a muffin top pan. 😉

  6. Those look great! I love, love the shape.

  7. Great idea with that pan and sandwiching the brownies! Yum! I’m a raisin hater, but it’s all good for those that love ’em!

  8. Stacked cream filled brownies!?! Moderation be damned!

  9. what a fun mold! i agree that stacking them w/the cream in between would be great!

  10. reminds me of a whoopie pie but kicked up to the next level! Yeah ask my DH husband about moderation.

  11. I think these brownies work fabulous as cookies!

  12. Love what you did with them!

  13. kdgreen

    Stacked brownies? Awesome. Wish I had thought of it. Now, I want a muffin top pan.

  14. What a great idea – I never thought about using those muffin top pans for brownies!

  15. Great ideas to make them with the muffin tops and then sandwich them. Delicious!!

  16. doughmesstic

    I want a muffin top pan! I swear, I am gonna have to quit this TWD surfing – I now have a list a mile long of things I just HAVE to have! (and I have to have a stacked brownie…maybe with icecream!)

  17. More raisins? Why not, I love your pan!

    Ulrike from Küchenlatein

  18. You get the award for creative presentation. Great job!!

  19. Using a muffin top pan is a great idea!
    Shari@Whisk: a food blog

  20. Oh a brownie sandwich! Yum I love the pans!

  21. How clever you are! Really nice idea!

  22. Brownie moderation…I love it! 😉

    The muffing top pan was a fabulous idea!

  23. LyB

    I love my muffin top pans, but I would never have thought to use them for the brownies, great idea! And yes, they do look wonderful stacked with cream in between, why, I might just try that next time! 🙂

  24. Finally, someone else who enjoyed the raisins! What a pretty pan, too. I’m having a little kitchen toy envy.

  25. Love that muffin top pan. (It diverts the eyes from the muffin top o’ my pants.)

  26. Haha… we were about as moderate with these as you were! 🙂 They were tasty. I love the pan, great idea.

  27. I sometimes think “moderation” makes things worse – if you make them real small, you’ll end up eating more because, well, what’s one more going to do to you?

  28. andreainthekitchen

    Yummy brownie sandwiches… I usually use my muffin top pan for hamburger buns but now have an even better use for them!

  29. Di

    I totally agree that there should have been more raisins. And rum, for that matter! =) Your brownies look really tasty.

  30. More raisins for me, too. Love your muffin top brownies.

Leave a Reply

